Factions‎ > ‎Inquisition‎ > ‎


This page details military structure of Inquisition forces including Detachments and Formations.


Inquisitorial Detachment

The Inquisitorial Detachment shown here can be included as part of any Battle-forged army.

All units in this detachment must have the Inquisition Faction.

Agent of the Holy Ordos: If this detachment is your Primary Detachment, you can re-roll the result when rolling on the Ordo Hereticus, Ordo Malleus or Ordo Xenos Warlord Traits table.

Castellans of the Imperium

When the Imperium faces the direst of threats, it requires all of its military arms to work in conjuction to secure the future of Humanity. Bolstered by their versatility and shared devotion to the Emperor, and driven by the desperation such a mustering of strength signifies, disparate Imperial warriors become a force greater than the sum of its parts.

Unlike the Detachments shown in Warhammer 40,000: The Rules, the Castellans of the Imperium Detachment have Force Organisation Charts whose slots are a combination of Battlefield Roles from multiple Factions. However, they still have compulsory and optional elements, as well as Restrictions and Command Benefits, just like any other Detachment. If your Warlord is part of a Castellans of the Imperium Detachment, that entire Detachment is your Primary Detachment.

The Castellans of the Imperium Detachment Army List divides the units available into several categories, according to their Battlefield Role. You must use the profiles, points costs, equipment, options, special rules and any Dedicated Transports available to each unit as described on their datasheet. Each entry will include an abbreviated reference to the codex, publication or dataslate where their appropriate datasheet can be found, denoted as follows:

Heavy Support
Fast Attack
Lords of War

One of the following:
 • Inquisitor Greyfax
 • Celestine
 • Terminator Captain (AoD)
 • Commissar (AM/MT)
 • Commissar Yarrick (AM)
 • Company Command Squad (AM)
 • Enginseer (& Servitors) (AM/IA)
 • Knight Commander Pask (AM)
 • Lord Commissar (AM)
 • Ministorum Priest (AM/AS/IA)
 • Primaris Psyker (AM/IA)
 • Tank Commander (AM)
 • Canoness (AS/IA)
 • Ecclesiarchy Battle Conclave (AS)
 • Sororitas Command Squad (AS/IA)
 • Uriah Jacobus (AS/IA)
 • Inquisitor Coteaz (I/IA)
 • Inquisitor Karamazov (I/IA)
 • Ordo Hereticus Inquisitor (I/IA)
 • Ordo Malleus Inquisitor (I/IA)
 • Ordo Xenos Inquisitor (I/IA)
 • Militarum Tempestus Command Squad (MT)
 • Captain (SM)
 • Chaplain (SM)
 • Chaplain Grimaldus (SM)
 • The Emperor’s Champion (SM)
 • High Marshal Helbrecht (SM)
 • Librarian (SM)
 • Techmarine (SM)

One of the following:
 • Armoured Sentinel Squadron (AM)
 • Hellhound Squadron (AM)
 • Rough Riders (AM)
 • Scout Sentinel Squadron (AM)
 • Vendetta Squadron (AM)
 • Valkyrie Squadron (AM/MT)
 • Dominion Squad (AS/IA)
 • Seraphim Squad (AS/IA)
 • Stormhawk Interceptors (DftS)
 • Taurox Prime (MT)
 • Assault Squad (SM)
 • Attack Bike Squad (SM)
 • Bike Squad (SM)
 • Drop Pod (SM)
 • Land Speeder Storm (SM)
 • Land Speeders (SM)
 • Razorback (SM)
 • Rhino (SM)
 • Scout Bike Squad (SM)
 • Stormtalon Gunship (SM)

One of the following:
 • Knight Crusader (IK)
 • Knight Errant (IK)
 • Knight Gallant (IK)
 • Knight Paladin (IK)
 • Knight Warden (IK)
 • Baneblade (M)
 • Banehammer (M)
 • Banesword (M)
 • Doomhammer (M)
 • Hellhammer (M)
 • Shadowsword (M)
 • Stormlord (M)
 • Stormsword (M)
One of the following:
 • Infantry Platoon (AM)
 • Veterans (AM)
 • Battle Sisters Squad (AS/IA)
 • Militarum Tempestus Scions (MT)
 • Crusader Squad (SM)
 • Scout Squad (SM)
 • Tactical Squad (SM)

One of the following:
 • Contemptor Dreadnought (AoD)
 • Basilisk Battery (AM)
 • Deathstrike (AM)
 • Hydra Battery (AM)
 • Leman Russ Squadron (AM)
 • Manticore (AM)
 • Wyvern Battery (AM)
 • Exorcist (AS/IA)
 • Penitent Engine (AS/IA)
 • Retributor Squad (AS/IA)
 • Centurion Devastator Squad (SM)
 • Devastator Squad (SM)
 • Hunters (SM)
 • Land Raider (SM)
 • Land Raider Crusader (SM)
 • Land Raider Redeemer (SM)
 • Predators (SM)
 • Stalkers (SM)
 • Stormraven Gunship (SM)
 • Thunderfire Cannons (SM)
 • Vindicators (SM)
 • Whirlwinds (SM)

One of the following:
 • Callidus Assassin (A/IA/M)
 • Culexus Assassin (A/IA/M)
 • Eversor Assassin (A/IA/M)
 • Vindicare Assassin (A/IA/M)
 • Cataphractii Terminator Squad (AoD)
 • Bullgryns (AM)
 • Militarum Tempestus Platoon (AM)
 • Ogryns (AM)
 • Ratlings (AM)
 • Wyrdvane Psykers (AM/IA)
 • Celestian Squad (AS/IA)
 • Repentia Squad (AS/IA)
 • Inquisitorial Henchmen Warband (I)
 • Command Squad (SM)
 • Dreadnoughts (SM)
 • Honour Guard (SM)
 • Ironclad Dreadnoughts (SM)
 • Sternguard Veteran Squad (SM)
 • Terminator Squad (SM)
 • Terminator Assault Squad (SM)
 • Vanguard Veteran Squad (SM)
 • Venerable Dreadnoughts (SM)

This Detachment must include at least four Troops choices and two HQ choices. It may include up to two more HQ choices and any number of additional Troops choices, as well as up to 6 Elites, 6 Fast Attack and 6 Heavy Support choices, and up to 3 Lord of War choices, in any combination. This Detachment must also include units that have at least two different Factions.

Flock to the Front Line: Each time a Troops unit from this Detachment is completely destroyed, roll a D6. On a 5+, you can immediately place a new unit into Ongoing Reserves that is identical, in terms of the original number of models, weapons and upgrades, to the unit that was just destroyed. This new unit counts as being part of the original Detachment, so roll a D6 as described above if they are subsequently destroyed. Victory points are awarded as normal for new units in this Detachment that have been completely destroyed.

Lord Castellan: If this Detachment is chosen as your Primary Detachment, you can choose to re-roll the result on the Warlord Trait table.

Zealous Defenders: All units in this Detachment have the Hatred special rule. However, if this Detachment’s Force Organisation Chart contains the maximum number of units (excluding Troops), then all units in the Detachment have the Zealot special rule instead.

Inquisitorial Representative

All units from this Detachment must have the Inquisition Faction.

Authority of the Inquisition: You may pick one Inquisitor (this can be a Unique Inquisitor) from this Detachment to generate and use a Warlord Trait, even if they are not your army’s Warlord. For the purposes of this Warlord Trait, this Inquisitor is considered to be your Warlord.


Triumvirate of the Imperium

Exemplars of the Imperium: If you choose a model from the Triumvirate of the Imperium to be your Warlord, then all of the models from this Formation can use their Warlord Traits.

Inspiring Presence: Friendly units from the Armies of the Imperium that are within 12" of two or more models from the Triumvirate of the Imperium have the Stubborn special rule and automatically pass Pinning tests. Friendly units from the Armies of the Imperium that are within 12" of all three models from the Triumvirate of the Imperium have the Fearless special rule instead. Note that the Geminae Superia that accompany Saint Celestine do not count for the purposes of this rule.

Wrathful Crusade

All units from Codex: Space Marines must be drawn from the Black Templars Chapter.
 • Crusader

Collective Fanaticism: If the Wrathful Crusade contains the maximum number of units, then all units in this Formation gain the Zealot special rule.

Unbridled Fury: All units in the Wrathful Crusade can re-roll failed charge rolls. In addition, if you roll a 10 or more when determining the charge distance of a unit from the Wrathful Crusade, all models in that unit have the Furious Charge special rule for that turn.

Inquisitorial Henchmen Warband

 • 1 Inquisitor of any type, including Unique units
 • 1 unit of Acolytes
 • 0-1 Ministorum Priests1
 • 0-1 Crusaders1
 • 0-6 Daemonhosts1
 • 0-1 Arco-flagellants1
 • 0-1 Death Cult Assassins1
 • 0-1 Tech-Priest Enginseer1
 • 0-6 Jokaero Weaponsmiths1
 • 0-1 Astropath1
1 These units must form a single unit with this
Formation’s unit of Acolytes.
Authority of the Inquisition: An Inquisitor (this can be a Unique Inquisitor) from this Formation can generate and use a Warlord Trait, even if they are not your army’s Warlord. For the purposes of this Warlord Trait, this Inquisitor is considered to be your Warlord.

Chambers Militant: This Formation’s Inquisitor may have requisitioned additional support from one of the Chambers Militant, according to the Ordo they hail from:
 • An Inquisitorial Henchmen Warband that includes an Ordo Malleus Inquisitor or Inquisitor Coteaz may also include a Grey Knight Terminator Squad.
 • An Inquisitorial Henchmen Warband that includes an Ordo Hereticus Inquisitor or Inquisitor Karamazov may also include an Adepta Sororitas Battle Sisters Squad.
 • An Inquisitorial Henchmen Warband that includes an Ordo Xenos Inquisitor may also include a unit of Deathwatch Veterans.