The Rules‎ > ‎Vehicles‎ > ‎


Some vehicles can carry infantry across the battlefield, providing speed and protection. Of course, if the transport is destroyed, the passengers risk being burnt alive in the explosion.

Transports have several additional characteristics: Transport Capacity, Fire Points and Access Points.

Transport Capacity

Each Transport vehicle has a maximum passenger capacity that can never be exceeded. A Transport can carry a single Infantry unit and/or any number of Independent Characters (as long as they are also Infantry), up to a total number of models equal to the vehicle’s Transport Capacity. The entire unit must be embarked on the Transport if any part of it is – a unit cannot be partially embarked or be spread across multiple Transports.

Only Infantry models can embark upon Transports (this does not include Jump or Jet Pack Infantry), unless specifically stated otherwise. Some larger Infantry models count as more than one model for the purposes of Transport Capacity, and this will be specified in the model’s rules. Sometimes, there will be constraints on which types of models can embark upon a particular vehicle, and this will be specified in the unit’s entry. Space Marine Terminators, for example, cannot embark upon a Rhino or Razorback, although they can be transported by a Land Raider.

Unshakable Nerve

Units embarked upon Transports have the Fearless special rule while they are embarked.

Dedicated Transports

Sometimes a unit entry will include a transport option, allowing a vehicle to be selected together with the unit. These Dedicated Transports do not use up a slot on the force organisation chart, but count as having the same role as the unit they were bought for all other rules purposes.

For example, a Rhino bought for a Space Marine Tactical Squad (troops) counts as a unit of troops, but one bought for a unit of Space Marine Sternguard Veteran Squad (elites) counts as elites.

Other vehicles may also have a Transport Capacity, but they are chosen separately as normal, have a role and occupy a force organisation chart slot of their own.

The only limitation of a Dedicated Transport is that when it is deployed, it can only carry the unit it was selected with (plus any Independent Characters that have joined it). After the game begins, it can then transport any friendly Infantry unit, subject to Transport Capacity and other special exclusions, as explained in the vehicle’s entry.

Fire Points

Many Transports have a number of Fire Points defined in their army entry. A Fire Point is a hatch or gun slit from which one or more passengers inside the vehicle can fire shooting weapons (or use witchfire psychic powers). Unless specified differently in the vehicle’s entry, a single passenger can fire out of each Fire Point and the other transported models cannot fire. Ranges and line of sight are measured from the Fire Point itself. If an embarked model fires a Template weapon or a beam psychic power from a Fire Point, discount the hit scored against the vehicle – we assume the weapon has been fired in a sufficient arc to clear the Transport’s hull. Note that the passengers can shoot at a different target to the vehicle itself.

Models firing out of a vehicle that moved at Combat Speed count as having moved that turn. Models firing out of a vehicle that moved at Cruising Speed can only fire Snap Shots that turn. They cannot fire if the vehicle moves Flat Out or uses smoke launchers that turn, nor can a vehicle move Flat Out or use smoke launchers if a unit embarked inside it shoots out.

Access Points

Each vehicle capable of carrying passengers will have a number of Access Points defined in its entry. These are the doors, ramps and hatches that passengers use to get in and out of the vehicle (see below for more details). Transports on flying bases also count the base as an Access Point.

Embarking and Disembarking

Models can only voluntarily embark or disembark in the Movement phase. They cannot voluntarily embark and disembark in the same turn. However, they can embark and then be forced to disembark if their Transport is destroyed.


A unit can embark onto a vehicle by moving each model to within 2" of its Access Points in the Movement phaseDifficult and Dangerous Terrain tests should be taken as normal. The whole unit must be able to embark – if some models are out of range, the entire unit must stay outside. When the unit embarks, remove it from the table and place it aside, making a note that the unit is being transported. If the players need to measure a range involving the embarked unit (except for its shooting), this range is measured to or from the vehicle’s hull.

If the vehicle moved before its passengers got aboard, it cannot move further that turn (including pivoting on the spot, moving Flat Out, Running or charging). If the vehicle did not move before its passengers got aboard, it can move as normal after they have embarked. In either case, a vehicle cannot Tank Shock or Ram in a turn that a unit embarks upon it.


A unit that begins its Movement phase embarked upon a vehicle can disembark either before or after the vehicle has moved (including pivoting on the spot, etc) so long as the vehicle has not moved more than 6".

If the vehicle had not moved before the unit disembarked, the vehicle can then move normally. If the vehicle had already moved before the unit disembarked, the vehicle cannot move further that turn (including pivoting on the spot, moving Flat Out, Running or charging). In addition, a vehicle cannot Tank Shock or Ram on a turn that a unit disembarks from it.

Placing Disembarked Models

When a unit disembarks, place the models one at a time, using the following method: place the first model in base contact with one of the vehicle’s Access Points (including its flying base, if it has one). A disembarking model’s base cannot be placed within 1" of an enemy model or within impassable terrain.

The model can then make a normal moveDifficult and Dangerous Terrain tests should be taken as normal, but it must end its move wholly within 6" of the Access Point it disembarked from (we assume that any distance that is lost because of this has been used getting out of the Transport). Repeat this process for each model in the unit. At the end of the unit’s move, all models must be in unit coherency.

Disembarkation Restrictions

After disembarking, models can manifest their psychic powers and either shoot or Run in their subsequent Shooting phase, counting as having moved that turn, but they cannot declare a charge in their subsequent Assault phase. If a unit disembarks from a destroyed vehicle during the enemy turn, it cannot charge in the Assault phase of its own turn unless the destroyed vehicle had the Assault Vehicle special rule.

Emergency Disembarkation

If any models cannot disembark, because of enemies or because they would end up in impassable terrain, the unit can perform an emergency disembarkation. In this case, a model can be placed anywhere in contact with the vehicle’s hull and can then move as for a normal disembarkation. The unit cannot then perform any voluntary actions for the rest of the turn. If even this disembarkation is impossible, because it is impossible to place one or more models, then the unit can’t disembark.

Independent Characters & Transports

If an Independent Character (or even more than one) and a unit are both embarked upon the same vehicle, they are automatically joined, just as if the Independent Character was within 2" of the unit. If either an Independent Character or a unit is already in a vehicle, the other may join them by embarking too (assuming, of course, that there is enough space). The unit and the Independent Character(s) can, in a later Movement phase, disembark together as a single unit. Alternatively, they can separate by either the unit or the Independent Character(s) disembarking while the others remain on board. They can even separate by disembarking at the same time, so long as they end their moves more than 2" away from each other.

Transports and Assaults

If a Transport vehicle is assaulted, an embarked unit can fire Overwatch at the attackers out of its Fire Points – note that a unit can still only fire Overwatch once a turn, even if embarked on a Transport. If a Transport vehicle is Wrecked, Explodes! or Crashes and Burns, any Wounds caused to its passengers do not count towards assault results, and any surviving passengers are not locked in combat with the units assaulting their vehicle.

Psychic Powers and Transports

Psykers embarked on a Transport can only target enemy units with witchfire psychic powers, and only then if the vehicle has a Fire Point that can ‘see’ the target unit. Psykers embarked on a Transport cannot attempt to manifest any other kind of psychic power.

Psychic powers cannot target units that are embarked on a Transport.

Effects of Damage on Passengers

When a Transport sustains damage, it can also have an effect on its passengers – even if they disembark – as described below:
  • Crew Shaken, Crew Stunned, Weapon Destroyed and Immobilised. At the end of a phase in which a vehicle sustains one or more of these damage results, the passengers must take a Leadership test. If the test is passed, the unit is unaffected. If the test is failed, the unit can only make Snap Shots in their next Shooting phase, but are otherwise unaffected.
  • Wrecked (other than Zooming Flyers). The passengers must immediately disembark in the usual manner, save that they must end their move wholly within 3" of the vehicle, rather than 6". If, even by performing an emergency disembarkation, some models are unable to disembark, then any models that cannot disembark are removed as casualties. This does not prevent the rest of the unit from disembarking. The unit must then take a Pinning test. After this, the vehicle becomes a wreck.
  • Explodes! The unit suffers a number of Strength 4 AP- hits equal to the number of models embarked. These Wounds are Randomly Allocated. Surviving passengers are placed where the vehicle used to be and in unit coherency. Any models that cannot be placed are removed as casualties. The unit then takes a Pinning test.
  • Wrecked (Zooming Flyers) and Crash and Burn! The unit suffers a number of Strength 10 AP2 hits equal to the number of models embarked. These Wounds are Randomly Allocated. Surviving passengers are placed where the Flyer used to be and in unit coherency. Any models that cannot be placed are removed as casualties. The unit then takes a Pinning test.
If a Transport is destroyed by a shooting attack, any unit that shot it that turn can, if allowed, charge the now disembarked passengers.



 Q: Do passengers disembarking from an immobile vehicle such as a Drop Pod that has just arrived from Deep Strike Reserve have to take a leadership test to see if they can fire normally (or if they have to fire Snap Shots)?
 Q: If a vehicle with an invulnerable save (e.g. a Dark Eldar Venom through its Flickerfield) is hit by a Template weapon, do the models inside also benefit from it when resolving the No Escape rule?
 Q: Can models embarked inside an exploding vehicle benefit from cover saves (e.g. the Realspace Raiders Detachment who have a 5+ cover save on the first turn and any turns with Night Fighting, or models with the Stealth and/or Shrouded special rules)?
 Q: I have a question regarding unit special rules that affect all or some units within a certain range of a model or unit. How do these interact with units inside Transports, and what happens if the unit with the rule is inside a Transport?
When a unit embarks on a vehicle it is taken off the battlefield and does not interact with anything on the battlefield. However, certain rules may create exceptions to this rule, with the most obvious examples being Fire Points, psychic powers and Transports. If a unit’s rules are meant to apply even when embarked on a Transport, they will specify this.
 Q: Do non-psychic powers with an area of effect (‘aura’ powers like the Tau Ethereal’s Invocation of the Elements, or the effects of many Warlord Traits) extend from the hull of a Transport that the model with the power is embarked within?
No, non-psychic powers such as those described cannot be used by models embarked upon a Transport unless specifically noted otherwise.
 Q: It’s not clear whether or not a unit that has destroyed a Transport can then charge the now-disembarked troops. The rule says ‘if allowed’ – does that mean as long as they haven’t fired weapons stopping them from charging, or do they need to have a special rule to be allowed to charge?
The unit that destroyed the Transport vehicle can charge the now-disembarked passengers so long as, for example, it hasn’t fired any weapons that prevent it from charging, it hasn’t Gone to Ground, it is within 12", and so forth. A unit doesn’t need a special rule to allow it to do so.
 Q: Do units disembarking from a Deep Striking Transport also count as entering play via Deep Strike?
 Q: What happens to a unit if the Transport they are in moves over 6" and is Wrecked by your opponent in their turn?
If the unit passes their Pinning test, they can fire Overwatch if they are charged, so long as they were not forced to perform an emergency disembarkation. In their following turn they will act normally, though they will be unable to charge unless the vehicle transporting them had the Assault Vehicle rule. If they fail their Pinning test, the unit must Go to Ground.